The Liver Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors, who ensure we maintain the highest level of ethics, compliance and governance. They generously donate their time, energy and professional expertise to support our mission, ‘to raise awareness and fund critical research into the prevention, detection and diagnosis, treatment, and cure of liver disease’.

Lynne Pezzullo.png

Dr Lynne Pezzullo 


Dr Lynne Pezzullo has a passion for health and wellbeing, bringing an impressive list of accomplishments and credentials to her new role as Chair. Having founded and led the Health Economics and Social Policy team for Access Economics, Dr Pezzullo then headed up Australia’s largest health economic practice with Deloitte Australia.

Dr Pezzullo has published multiple reports and publications on liver disease and liver cancer, and has an extensive network among the health sector and policy-makers. Having served on 20 boards over 27 years, Dr Pezzullo will call upon her depth of experience and business acumen to lead the Foundation’s Board through a new phase of growth.

Dr Paul Clark
Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Dr Paul Clark consults in general gastroenterology and hepatology and is fully accredited in upper endoscopy and colonoscopy. Dr Clark has a sub-speciality interest in the diagnosis and management of liver disease, including viral hepatitis and autoimmune diseases, and liver fibrosis evaluation.
Dr Paul Clark has a part-time appointment as a Staff Specialist at the Princess Alexandra Hospital and Mater Hospital Brisbane and is a Senior Lecturer with the University of Queensland School of Medicine. He has a part-time NHMRC Health Practitioner Research Fellowship at the Cancer Control Unit at QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute. He has authored over 35 book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles, and presented at national and international gastroenterology conferences.

John Dewar

John has substantial experience providing commercial, financial and taxation advice to privately held businesses and not-for-profit bodies. He has particular interest in the healthcare industry with a client base which includes device developers, device wholesalers, digital health providers, disability service providers, home care providers, practices (allied health, dental & medical) and practitioners (general & specialist). John's work in the healthcare industry extends to non-executive director roles with not-for-profit-bodies, involvement with accelerators/incubators and participation with industry bodies.

Professor Winita Hardikar


Professor Winita Hardikar is a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) for her significant service to medicine, particularly to paediatric liver disease and transplantation. 

Professor Winita Hardikar is the Director of the Gastroenterology and Clinical Nutrition Department Royal Children’s Hospital, and Head of the Liver and intestinal transplant program. She completed her medical training and a PHD at Melbourne University, and was a Fulbright scholar at Yale University. 

She has over 25 years’ experience in managing children with liver and bowel disorders.

Professor Gary Jeffrey


Professor Gary Jeffrey is Professor of Medicine at the University of Western Australia, Medical Director of the West Australian Liver Transplantation Service at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital and was Chairman of the Liver Foundation of Western Australia.

He and co-investigators were awarded the 2006 WA Inventor of the year award for creating the ‘Hepascore’ which is a serum model of liver fibrosis. This is now used worldwide including in the United States, France and Australia. In addition to his clinical and teaching roles, his research interests are diverse and include the role of iron in preservation injury in the isolated donor liver, mechanisms of HCV viral resistance, clinical studies in liver fibrosis, liver transplantation and HCC.

Professor Grant Ramm
Coordinator of the Cell & Molecular Biology Department
Senior Principal Research Fellow | Group Leader

Professor Grant Ramm is the Head of the Hepatic Fibrosis Laboratory and Coordinator of the Cell and Molecular Biology Department and is a Senior Principal Research Fellow at QIMR Berghofer. His research at QIMR Berghofer has included investigation into the molecular, cellular and histopathological events involved in initiating hepatic fibrosis (liver scarring) in chronic liver disease associated with both hereditary haemochromatosis in adults and Cystic Fibrosis in children. Mechanistic evaluation of these cellular events will aid in identifying patients at risk of serious liver disease complications (including cirrhosis and liver cancer) and lead to the development of new biomarkers as well as novel therapeutic interventions to treat chronic liver disease.

Mr Edward Smith

Edward Smith is an experienced Philanthropic Fundraiser who has worked in Leadership roles across Public Health and Higher Education. Edward is a Non-Executive Director with a demonstrated history of working in the management consulting industry. Skilled in Business Planning, International Business, Event Management, International Relations, and Corporate Communications.

Associate Professor Simone Strasser

Associate Prof Strasser is a Senior Staff Specialist in the AW Morrow Gastroenterology and Liver Centre, and the Australian National Liver Transplant Unit at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and the University of Sydney. She has a major clinical and research interest in primary liver cancer, viral hepatitis, non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, advanced liver disease, and liver transplantation.

Associate Prof Strasser is Director of Hepatology Clinical Trials at RPAH, and is site principal investigator on multiple clinical trials of new therapies for patients with liver disease and liver cancer. She is a regular speaker in national and local educational programmes and sits on multiple educational, advisory, editorial and administrative boards and committees in Australia and internationally.


Prof Gary Jeffrey

Prof Luc Delriviere

Prof Leon Adams
Dr Wendy Cheng

 Dr Michaela Lucas